Elegy for Amy

A Problem with Your Bill August 13, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — elegyforamy @ 7:53 pm

Well, this is embarrassing. I got a collection notice from the hospital records copier today. In fact, I have an entire stack of bills and past due notices pertaining to my pregnancy and Amy’s delivery. I’m no stranger to the collection notice, but it’s been nearly a decade since I got one. Because unlike then, I have the means to easily pay them. But just like then, I have chosen to stick my head in the sand and ignore these bills rather than paying them. Which I could. Easily.

It just seems like an unnecessary cruelty, to have to go out my way to pay these bills for a pregnancy that ended so terribly. I got a bill, one week after she died, for her AFP test at 18 weeks, because the practice sends the labs out to an independent lab and there’s some weird thing with that and the insurance so we have to pay out of pocket. It’s only $80, but when I got the bill, she was gone.

The bill from the records place – after the birth, they tested my placenta for infection but the results got lost and my doctor didn’t have them when I went in for my follow-up. And I called, twice, to get them, but didn’t. So I called for my records to get them, and nowhere was it mentioned that they would charge a per page fee to send them to me. It’s only $20, but I shouldn’t have even had to have my records mailed to see these results.

And then there is the hospital bill. In total, my 5 day hospitalization and delivery cost $20,000. But we have, thankfully, comprehensive insurance. They’ve paid it all – I owe only my $200 copay.

So, here I sit, with my stack of bills, and my collections notice. I’m going to pay them. It’s not worth ruining my credit score, and clearly it’s a small amount of money considering the care I received. But even that seems unfair, somehow. Like paying for something I didn’t receive, because wasn’t the whole point to have a baby to raise for the next 50 years? I want a T-shirt that says BCBSGA spent $20,000 and all I got was a dead baby. Living babies are cheaper, ironically. Though probably not living babies born at 23 weeks 5 days gestation. Ugh.

 

Leave a Reply

