Elegy for Amy

10 Year Night February 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — elegyforamy @ 12:00 am

Today is a very special day. And while I know, once you get married, you celebrate your wedding anniversary and no one counts anything else, today is a very special day, because exactly 10 years ago, Dan and I had our first date, the night that we met.

Ten years. That’s big, that’s something, even if it’s not a wedding anniversary. I’ve spent a decade – nearly a third of my life – with this man. And we’re still in love. We still laugh at the others’ jokes. We still sit next to each other on the couch, sleep spoons, and frown if we don’t get to eat dinner together. We still LIKE each other, which is saying quite a lot, after 10 years.

I still remember when he asked me out, how I panicked – we met online, and after one e-mail he announced that I should simply go to dinner with him. I still remember his absurdly harsh-looking photo online; he looked like some kind of Russian militant and I remember thinking this guy was going to be far too serious for someone as sarcastic and brazen and silly as I can be. I’m so glad I was wrong. I’m so glad I agreed anyway.

And then I remember our date, how easy it was talking with him. How excited he got telling me about a surplus auction he’d gone to recently. How we talked for so long we had to order another beer. How appalled he seemed when I used the men’s room when the line was too long for the women’s. He said that night his first impression of me was that I was someone he have conversations with for a long, long time.

It’s ten years ago now, and still some of the snapshots in my memory are like they were taken yesterday, him lounging on my futon on a Sunday morning and asking if I wanted to spend the afternoon driving around country roads with him (I did), trying to teach our dog (then she was my dog) to swim at Stone Mountain and him sitting on a log coaxing her in, playing Junkyard pinball at Oz Pizza while we waited for our very favorite pizza – a pizza we still get, though the original location has long since closed, and it’s just as good as it was in 2003.

Ten years is a long, long time, and it’s hard to believe how young we look in the photos from our first year together. But it’s ten years later, and we’ve made a home together, married, started a business together, had and held and lost a child, and another on the way. Ten years. I can’t wait to see what the next ten bring.

 

One Response to “10 Year Night”

  1. Kate Says:

    Congratulations on so many happy years together, Erin & Dan.


Leave a Reply

