Elegy for Amy

31w6d April 25, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — elegyforamy @ 9:23 pm

I was talking to a friend on Tuesday night, and she asked how far along I was. Without thinking, I replied, “oh, just about 32 weeks.” And the conversation continued, casually. Normally. And it was only when I was off the phone that I realized, holy crap. 32 weeks.

32 weeks is huge. A baby born between 32 and 36 weeks is not a micro preemie. Not extreme preterm. Not even early preterm, just, preterm. 28 was huge too – 28 was when his odds of survival really wentup – but a baby born after 32 weeks will not have nearly as many potential long-term issues to deal with as a baby born before. 32 weeks is a huge sigh of relief and time to start freaking out about actually bringing home a baby. 32 weeks is just 5 weeks from full-term. And back in October, even back in February when they put me on bed rest, 32 weeks seemed impossibly far away. Like a dream we might not dare to have.

But more than that, I’m not actually 32 weeks yet. I won’t be until tomorrow. But on Tuesday night, I rounded up. And there was a time when I wouldn’t have assumed on a Tuesday that I’d still be pregnant on Friday, but this week, I did. And I am. And I will be.

Last week was my last cervical measurement – I’m far enough along that they don’t need to measure it anymore. As of tomorrow, I get to start transitioning from “bed rest” to “taking it easy” until 34 weeks, when I’m off all restrictions. I’m no longer a high-risk cervical patient. My next ultrasound isn’t for another two weeks, and no one is worried. Finally.

Our ultrasound tech had some extra time and we played around a bit with the 3D/4D. I couldn’t believe how much detail they were able to see. I’ve seen other 3D pictures and wasn’t expecting much, but then suddenly on the screen there was our son’s adorable face.

31weeks2

 

3 Responses to “31w6d”

  1. Lynlee Says:

    He is beautiful!

    I special-request a post full of photos of things being knitted for him. 🙂

  2. Emily Says:

    Wow! Kaia was born at 32 weeks so anything past that is foreign territory for me. So exciting!

  3. maya Says:

    Wow! Such a handsome boy. Mine is only 21 weeks now. Praying for the time to fly. Best wishes!


Leave a Reply

