Elegy for Amy

38w2d June 9, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — elegyforamy @ 2:11 am

We’re officially living in some kind of weird twilight zone where my cervix is remarkably competent. If this was my pregnancy with Amy, I would have been induced two days ago. But protocols for my clotting disorder have changed, so we get a few extra days, and somehow the old incompetent cervix is still hanging in there. No change at all from 37 weeks, though I am “very favorable” for induction. I really can’t believe that after so many months of trying to avoid preterm labor, we’re now going to have to coax this kid out at 38w5d.

I am extremely pregnant. Which means I am extremely uncomfortable, and extremely cranky about it. And just when I get to my crankiest, I think about how crazy it is that we were never supposed to get anywhere close to this point, and how wonderful it is for our son. Not premature, or “pretty much full-term” or barely full-term, he’s a solidly full-term baby. A big one! Ultrasound guesstimate was 8 pounds, so closer to 8.5 pounds by Wednesday. I know it can be off, but I doubt it’s off by a whole lot considering the regularity with which we’ve gotten growth scans.

I can’t wait to not be pregnant anymore. And I can’t wait to meet our little boy.

 

Leave a Reply

